St Mark’s Churchyard Tour

St Mark’s Churchyard Tour

Guided Tour

St Marks Road, Alverstoke, Gosport, Hampshire, PO12 2DA

St Marks Church, built in 1844, was demolished in 1911. The cemetery remains today and the foundations of the church can still be seen. Hear about the lives of the people who lay beneath this soil. The Guide will give you an insight into a number of those who in Victorian times and early 20th century lived adventurous lives and served their country and their society. St Marks Churchyard is a treasure in the history of Gosport!

OPENING TIMES

  • Friday 13 September: Tour 1000
  • Saturday 14 September: Tour 1000
  • Sunday 15 September: Tour 1000
  • Monday 16 September: Tour 1000
  • Tuesday 17 September: Tour 1000
  • Wednesday 18 September: Tour 1000
  • Thursday 19 September: Tour 1000
  • Friday 20 September: Tour 1000
  • Saturday 21 September: Tour 1000
  • Sunday 22 September: Tour 1000

 

BOOKING DETAILS

 Book on line

Booking opens on 24 August at 0930

ACCESS

????? ????? ????? ????? ????? ????? ?????

 

On street parking is available in St Mark’s Road and Crescent Road. Space between gravestones is narrow in some places but wheelchairs can get to most of the site, which is level. The Churchyard is relatively small so no need to walk far but seating is not available on site. This is a very peaceful area so good for anyone who doesn’t like crowds. Let the tour guide know if you have any special needs. Toilets, refreshments and lunches are available in The Anglesey Hotel, just opposite.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Sensible footwear suggested.

ORGANISED BY

Friends of St Marks

WEBSITE

http://khargpress.co.uk/

MAP/DIRECTIONS (approximate)

For travel information about how to get to and around Gosport, click here.

Just off the junction with Crescent Road, opposite the Anglesey Hotel.

 http://www.gosportheritage.co.uk/13-february/

 

Close Menu
Translate »