Eyes Along the Coast – Lee Coastwatch

Eyes Along the Coast – Lee Coastwatch

Presentation

Coastwatch Lookout Station, Beach Road Car Park, PO13 9LB

Wherever there is a National Coastwatch Institution (NCI) station, a watchkeeper will be looking out for danger and ensuring safety on the water and along the coastline.

High technology and sophisticated systems such as radar and telecommunications have vastly improved safety at sea, but there is no substitute for a watchful pair of eyes. Drop in and talk to the Watchkeeper about their vital voluntary work along our waters and shores. See some of the equipment they use to keep a look out!

OPENING TIMES

  • Friday 13 September: 1000-1530
  • Saturday 14 September: 1000-1530
  • Sunday 15 September: 1000-1530
  • Monday 16 September: 1000-1530
  • Tuesday 17 September: 1000-1530
  • Wednesday 18 September: 1000-1530
  • Thursday 19 September: 1000-1530
  • Friday 20 September: 1000-1530
  • Saturday 21 September: 1000-1530
  • Sunday 22 September: 1000-1530

 

BOOKING DETAILS

No Booking Needed – just turn up and enjoy

ACCESS

Partially accessible parking Accesible parking Wheel chair accesible toilets Mobility impaired steps Service dogs welcome

 

Small step on entry. Accessible parking and toilets in car park. Cafe for refreshments and meals nearby.

HODs visitors are most welcome at the Lookout, although, when an incident is ongoing, this may not always be convenient and the duty watchkeeper may ask visitors to call back later.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

People Power: The National Coastwatch Institution (NCI) is an entirely voluntary organisation keeping a visual watch along UK shores. Local people contribute many skills and hours to keeping our coast as safe as possible.

 

 

ORGANISED BY

The National Coastwatch Institution – Lee

WEBSITE

http://www.nci.org.uk/solent

MAP/DIRECTIONS (approximate)

For travel information about how to get to and around Gosport, click here.

 

 

Close Menu
Translate »